dividerWorking in...| Ireland | England | Southern Africa | Venezuela | Russia | Southern USA

MSC Daughters

Twenty years after Fr. Jules Chevalier founded the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart (MSC), he founded the Daughters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart (in latin Filiae Dominae Nostrae Sacro Corde - F.D.N.S.C.). He chose this name to honour Mary - she gave Jesus his humanity. In this special relationship, Mary becomes for all time the woman closest to the Heart of Jesus.

daughters1MSC DaughtersIn 1882, Fr. Chevalier appointed Marie Louise Hartzer in charge of the small community of Daughters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart. On 9th September, 1884, the very first profession ceremony took place, and Marie Louise was amongst the five to be professed. Just two years later, in 1884, on October 17th, five Sisters set out for the great mission of Oceania. Two had made their vows just a few hours before! (From the beginning, Fr Chevalier encouraged the Sisters to embrace the risk of ‘mission without limits’.) For twenty-six years, until her death in 1908, Mother Marie Louise, the first Superior General, wisely guided this infant Congregation.

Our Lady of the Sacred Heart

Fr. Chevalier promised Our Lady that, if she helped him with the finance and housing necessary to found his little society (the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart), he would cause her to be honoured in a special way. She did help and
Fr. Chevalier in his turn kept his promise to her. He gave her a new name, Our Lady of the Sacred Heart.

daughters2Sr Anita and Sr SallyIn almost all of the countries where devotion to Our Lady of the Sacred Heart has been established, she has soon been presented with the features and dress of the new country where she has become known. Some characteristics remain the same however - Jesus is pointing to his heart and to his Mother. Mary looks at us, pointing to Jesus’ heart.

The Congregation is present in the following 28 countries: Angola, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Cameroun, Congo, Dominican Republic, East Timor, England, Fiji, France, Holland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Senegal, Slovakia, South Africa, Sudan, USA, Venezuela.